janie55

janie55, United States of America
  • U.S.A.
  • Joined 1st Jan., 2013
  • Seen about 3 hours ago
sent


received
56th on sent postcards from 64th on longest distance from
  • Not interested in direct swaps
  • English, French, Spanish, some Italian, Albanian (Shqip), a little Russian and Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Female
  • 15th March

About Jane...

I'm in my 6th year of PostCrossing and I love it more and more each year.

I like all kinds of cards. But here are some special favorites:
***Nouvelles Images
***Inge Look old ladies
***Maxicards
***windows; doors; windows and doors
***anything blue, or blue and yellow
***traditional food and drink
***dogwood or cherry blossoms
***traditional costumes
***less common languages and alphabets
***impressionist paintings
***country or regional maps; US state maps; country flags
***cards from less well-known countries (even if it's not your own)

Sorry, I do not like postcards of typical big buildings. (Private residences are fine though.)

PLEASE no haphazardly constructed handmade cards, greeting cards (folded), photos, or photocopies, even worse on flimsy paper.

I try very hard to find cards that match members' interests and I love it when other members do the same.

I am an attorney living in suburban Chicago IL USA; my specialty is human rights, but I take temporary evidence analysis projects in insurance or health law. I live with my husband, a retired mechanical engineer. Our 3 children are grown; and we have 7 grandchildren.

I travel often, having been to 100 countries, and I have a goal to visit all 200 or so countries in the world! I traveled to Europe with my oldest granddaughter and my oldest daughter in Spring 2016. In the summer of 2017, I went to Ghana to see the exchange student we hosted in high school graduate from college. I also traveled to Benin, Togo, and Ivory Coast; postcards were hard to find and expensive when I found them.

I'll be in Belarus, Ukraine, Romania, and Moldova in autumn 2018 or spring 2019. If you have any suggestions for sights to see or activities to do, please let me know.

I also enjoy learning languages, even if only a few words to use in my travels. (I studied Mandarin at our local community college with a wonderful teacher who was born in Taiwan; I also studied a bit of German and Japanese there.) I am always looking for a language exchange, where I can stay with a woman or a family abroad for 2 to 6 weeks with some formal or informal language instruction, and in exchange I will provide the same person with a similar experience here (for English and/or Spanish). Right now, we have a private apartment on our property for guests.

I would also be interested in exchanging letters (snail mail or email) with others abroad; also, if anyone wants help with English, I'd do so in exchange for help with any other language.

We receive foreign guests in our home through Servas, Friendship Force, Couchsurfers, and 5W (Women Welcome Women World Wide). Please check out these organizations if you are interested in experiencing homestay hospitality.

Loading map...