ctbab

ctbab, United States of America
  • Country U.S.A.
  • Member since Joined 15th Jan., 2012
  • icon Seen 7 months ago
icon
49
sent


Receive postcards
47
received
  • icon Not interested in direct swaps
  • icon English, some Spanish, a few words in Japanese
  • icon she/her

About ctbab...

I was a stamp collector in my youth. It was a great way to learn about the world. Once again, I am enjoying stamps of the world on the postcards that are sent to me. Stamps tell a story about your country. (I would like to see the Postcrossing stamp from the Netherlands.)

Please send me the postcard of your choice. I have varied interests and am interested in learning about new things. I enjoy them all. I would like to learn a bit about your life. Someday I hope to travel more.

When I was in college, I studied biology, Spanish, art history, and business administration. I have worked in many capacities for the same business during my career. I have held jobs as an accountant, database manager, secretary, personnel assistant, and consumer affairs representative. Now I work as an administrative assistant. Update: I retired in January 2013.

Each year, I plant a vegetable garden. My favorite fresh vegetables are tomatoes, cucumbers, eggplant, and beans. I grow some culinary herbs and flowers also. 2020 update: I have converted 165 feet of a narrow garden (the "parking strip" between the sidewalk and street) to a Pollinator Parkway. My plantings consist of native flowers, mostly perennials and shrubs, that attract and nurture native pollinating insects.

We have hosted exchange students and teachers in our home over the years. Some people stayed for a few days, and others have lived with us for as long as a year. Many of our homestays have become lifelong friends. Our guests have come from Mexico and Japan.

I enjoy knitting, cooking foods from different cuisines, traveling, learning about other cultures, and striving for a healthy lifestyle. I do volunteer work for our local food bank and for a non-profit center of fiber arts and agriculture that provides opportunities for adults with disabilities. 2020 update: I make quilts that are distributed by local charities. I volunteer at a weekly community dinner where I am involved in kitchen organization and food preparation. For the past four years, I have been actively engaged in various exercise classes at the local community center. I am proud to say that my strength, balance, flexibility and overall health has improved.

I look forward to your postcard.

Loading map...