Sunbird-MH

Sunbird-MH, South Africa
icon
145
sent


Receive postcards
157
received
  • icon Not interested in direct swaps
  • icon English, Afrikaans, Dutch, Flemish
  • icon Female
  • icon 5th August 1951
    (68 years old)

About Marita...

Hallo there,

I live in a lovely coastal town called Mossel Bay in the Western Cape Province, South Africa and shares my house with my dear husband, two Miniature Schnauzer dogs and one adopted cat. I am indeed a blessed woman! He is a retired attorney and I am a retired secretary at the Advocates Chambers. Both of us are now involved in property marketing to keep us busy. I am also involved with vulnerable children, as explained below.

I am the proud mother of two married children, two in-law children and seven grandchildren. My husband got four children, three in-law children and seven grandchildren. Therefore, between us there are six children and fourteen grandchildren. See, I told you we are blessed!

Something about myself: I am very active and likes gardening, walking my dogs, bird watching, photography, camping, hiking in nature and spending time with family and good friends. I absolutely loves the outdoors and nature and enjoys spending time in game reserves or at the beach. I also love travelling and have visited many countries, i.e. The Netherlands, Belgium, France, Germany, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, Spain, Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Finland, Russia, the USA, Brazil, Vietnam, Thailand, Singapore, Switzerland, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria and most of the African countries. We recently bought a caravan and we are now exploring beautiful South Africa.

I am a director of a charity caring for about 3,500 Aids orphans and other vulnerable children. We find foster moms to look after them and to love them unconditionally. We also have a baby/toddler home where we care, on a full time basis, for some of these unfortunate children. Sadly, a lot of babies are also abandoned in harsh circumstances, but thankfully some are eventually rescued. For months we will lovingly care for them physically, mentally and spiritually and eventually ensure that each child gets a forever family and that they will have a good future. For a long time I was involved with a team of caring women to arrange for the adoption of these children. A lot of "my children" were adopted mostly in Europe and Scandinavia and it is a joy to see some of them again after a few years when they either visit SA or I am fortunate enough to visit them at their homes. I strive to make a positive and lasting difference in others' lives, especially small children that cannot fend for themselves.

I am looking forward to receive your postcard soon. When sending me a postcard, please tell me about yourself, your hobbies, your family, your daily job, etc. and please write your name clearly. I do not have any preferences for post cards, and will appreciate each and every one that I receive as I know you have chosen it especially for me.

Baie dankie (in my home language, Afrikaans, meaning "thank you very much", and pronounced in English as "buy a donkey".) :-)

Marita

Loading map...