Robyn_Leigh

Robyn_Leigh, Netherlands
icon
218
sent


Receive postcards
221
received
icon Sent postcards on World Postcard Day in 2023WPD
  • icon Interested in direct swaps
  • icon English, Afrikaans, French
  • icon she/her
  • icon 9th May

About Robyn...

Hi there, I'm Robyn :)

I am a postdoctoral researcher living in Den Helder, Netherlands, for the next few years, but am originally from Cape Town, South Africa... Cape Town is an amazing place, but I am looking forward to having some European adventures too.

My research involves palaeoceanography (marine fossils and chemistry), and I love learning more about natural science. I spend a lot of my free time reading (sci-fi, fantasy, murder mysteries), googling and attempting recipes from around the world, hiking, sewing clothes, and hanging out with/phoning my family and friends.

Some of my other interests are:
- ancient civilisations
- travel (I am a compulsive traveller- countries that I really want to visit include Brazil, Peru, Ecuador, Japan, Uganda, Morocco, and Bhutan).
- music (both classical and modern!)
- Studio Ghibli
- podcasts (MFM, Dear Hank & John, Serial, No Such Thing as a Fish, Noble Blood)
- postcards :P - I'm a sucker for anything vintage or book-related, and adore illustrations. I also really like the Women in Science cards, Anderson-design style postcards, and GF cards (also happy to receive hand-made cards). However, I really love each postcard that I receive, and each message is read with enthusiasm and gratitude <3

I'd love to hear about your city: its history, local wildlife, fun facts, traditions, your favourite places, or even a recipe! There are so many interesting places in the world, and I enjoy connecting with people over what they find unique and special about their home. I'll be really happy with any card you send, and if you speak French, feel free to write to me in that language, and if you speak German, I'd love it if you added a favourite/ interesting/ unusual phrase or word, because I'm trying to learn!

Loading map...