Michael_Urrey, Germany
  • country Germany
  • Member since Joined 13th Apr., 2016
  • icon Seen about 9 hours ago

Receive postcards
icon icon 4 Postcrossing Supporter Sent postcards on World Postcard Day in 2020, 2021, 2022 & 2023WPD

About Michael...

Hello, its me 😊

I am living with my wife in the city Frankenthal,
in the region Palatinate in the southwest of Germany.
We have a adult daughter.

I am a member of art & culture societys of my hometown.
We organize as volunteers exhibitions, concerts and plays.
The most times I do works like a roadie or stagehand,
sometimes I control light and sound for "special effects".
I also support as volunteer the local alliance for mental health,
as an expert from my own experience.
A little bit I sponsor support associations
for art, culture, animal welfare and social.

I try to draw, to paint and to take photos...
but I need a lot of more education, practice and talent 😊
Anyway I create postcards with my images.
I feel myself as a dilettant "Artist" in the original meaning:
I do not have any education for art ... but I like it ...
and need not to earn any money with my images.

Since 2021.02.06 (International Ice Cream for Breakfast Day)
I show some of my cards at flickr,
because the pandemic postponed my first exhibition until
2021.10.13. (International Day for Disaster Risk Reduction)

For the most paintings I use mixed media,
because I can not decide for one, on paper.
Typically some of this: different (water-soluble)(colored)pens,
marker, watercolor, gouache and (oil)pastells.

Maybe you know https://www.danacards.de,
beautiful postcards for a better world. Otherwise: take a look.
DanaCards is a non-profit project,
the proceeds are donated to aid projects.
All work related to DanaCards is carried out by committed people,
on a voluntary or on a donation basis.
I submitted some of my pictures, 2 found a sponsor,
the others are waiting for a sponsorship.

With more enthusiasm than performance I do a little sport.
But I hold three records here:
the jogger with the lowest speed and the highest BMI
and I reached the top of the biggest mountain in town, 117 m 😊

My job is in the IT of a computer center of a medical organisation.
I organize, administrate, write software and scripts.
With the age of 10 I started to learn about computers
and to write programms. At the beginning
with a programmable calculator, then on Z80 based Computers.
Starting with machine language assembled in the head,
later with assembler for the processors Z80, 6303, 6809, 68000
and a lot of (script)languages on different systems.
I miss the Atari ST and its time.
A lot of years ago I developed a single board computer,
based on a 6303 to control different devices.

Please send postcards with pictures and text
about your interests or your hometown.
Something that you want to show and tell.
Self-made and let printed cards are also welcome.

Otherwise look at my list of interests:
science fiction, fantasy, astronomy,
fine arts, paintings, drawings, graphics.

I am undecided for direct swaps.

\V/_ mene sakkhet ur-seveh

last change:2024.01.21. (International Hugging Day)

Loading map...