MelKlos

MelKlos, South Africa
icon
402
sent


Receive postcards
392
received
icon icon 77th on sent postcards from 74th on longest distance from
  • icon Not interested in direct swaps
  • icon English, Afrikaans
  • icon she/her
  • icon 2nd April

About Mel...

I am a 'senior citizen' since my 50th birthday has come and gone. But at heart I'm still 16! I live in Melkbosstrand, a small village 30km north of Cape Town. It is great having the best of two worlds. On the one hand there is the quiet life of a small community and on the other I have one of the most beautiful and exciting cities in the world right on my doorstep!!

I have two great passions in life: animals and crafting.

I belong to a NPO (Non-profit organisation) called Melkbos Animal Care, MAC for short. We help locals find their lost pets and try to find the owners of animals found lost. We don't have a shelter, so all found, neglected, injured and abused animals are placed in foster homes (ours is one) till we can find a furever home for them. This means lots of time on the computer, networking.

We have a feeding program for local feral cats and when we can trap them, we sterilize them and release them again.

We also help local farm workers and people living in informal settlements to better care for their pets through education. We further help with food and kennels, have them sterilized, vaccinate and deworm them, dip them and get them medical assistance when they are sick or injured. This we call 'field work'.

Since we receive no assistance from Government, we also spend a lot of time fundraising.

As if all of this is not enough, I have four fur kids: two Jack Russells and two Afrikanussies (cross breed pavement specials, more or less unique in appearance to Africa). Oh, did I mention that I have a German husband who insists on a 'properly run' house? LOL

When I get a free moment I LOVE to craft. I started off scrap booking, but easily get bored and soon started making cards. Then I tried mosaic and beading followed. I discovered Mixed Media, where you use a lot of crafting techniques together - OMG! Now I have started recycling and find this the most stimulating and satisfying form of crafting. Taking something which would normally end up in the dustbin and creating something beautiful and usable from it is such a kick!

Both my husband and I are 'foodies' : we love eating it and cooking it. Most meals in our house are once-offs since I enjoy experimenting and trying out new food combinations. We also enjoy the theatre and live music shows. Our favourite music genre is jazz, blues and big band. And we LOVE to travel. My first overseas trip was backpacking in Europe with a friend, way back in the 80’s. since then I have jumped on a plane at every opportunity.

What postcards to send me? Strangely I like the back of cards best. If you send a tourist type card, please tell me more about the place/people/object on the picture. I also love artsy cards and then learning more about the sender - anything interesting, like the craziest thing you ever did, your favourite food/movie/book etc. And handmade cards are most welcome. I really appreciate someone sending me a little bit of themselves this way.

Loading map...