Deege07

Deege07, Australia
  • Country Australia
  • Member since Joined 24th Jun., 2009
  • icon Seen over 1 year ago
icon
sent


Receive postcards
received
icon icon icon Postcrossing Supporter 13th on sent postcards from 13th on longest distance from
  • icon Interested in direct swaps
  • icon English, some German and French
  • icon Male

About Don...

I am a retired Industrial Arts, Engineering Science and Computing teacher and taught in several High Schools, an Aboriginal homework centre, a Technical College and two Universities. I also taught Art during my first 8 years as a teacher. I am permanently separated from my second wife. I have 3 children (a son and two daughters) from my first marriage and 7 grandchildren (3 boys and 4 girls). I have returned to my hometown at Leeton, in the Murrumbidgee Irrigation Area, which is located in the Riverina Region of New South Wales, Australia. Leeton 550 km west of Sydney, 450 km north of Melbourne and 400 km west of Canberra.
On the map, Leeton is 1/3 of the way between Narrandera and Griffith.
I used to play rugby league football, cricket, basketball and baseball and refereed Rugby League football for 25 years in country NSW. I also commanded a school military cadet unit for 13 years. I have joined Leeton Family History and Local Society I am an ex-President of a Bushfire Brigade Canteen Committee. My hobbies are travel, family history, gardening, stamp and coin collecting, reading,and photography. I enjoy collecting all sorts of postcards and corresponding with people of any age. I love military history, planes, old cars, and trains - especially old ones. Otherwise, cards depicting the geography, history, nature and culture of your country are welcome. I have travelled to Europe 5 times, to USA 6 times, to New Zealand 7 times and to Norfolk Island twice. Much of my travel was due to my service on the Australian Lions National (Multiple District 201) Youth Exchange Committee. I was a member of Lions from 1974 - 2001 and have rejoined my original Lions Club (Leeton). and also volunteer four days a week at the Leeton Shire Men's Shed and will soon resume my attempts to learn German and to teach myself to read Russian. I also hope to join a garden club.

Loading map...